Songkhla is a southern border province, adjacent to the State of Kedah (Sai Buri), Malaysia. It is an important port and coastal province of Thailand since the old days with Amphoe Hat Yai as the southern centre of commerce, transportation and rapid economic growth. The province is ideal for tourism because of its two distinct characteristics: the old buildings of Amphoe Mueang Songkhla, and the developed Amphoe Hat Yai, separated by only about 30 kilometres.
The old part of Songkhla is located at the presentday Amphoe Sathing Phra. Indians, Persians, and Arabs came to trade and called the place "Singhla". The name came from two islands with the shape of crouching lions at the mouth of Songkhla lagoon. The islands are presently called Ko Nu and Ko Maeo. Songkhla occupies an area of 7,393 square kilometers.
Songkhla's main beach, Samila Beach, has fine white sand and a wide beach area protected by a line of tall pine trees. Close by are the famous Koh Noo (Mouse Island) and Koh Maew (Cat Island). On the headland is the famous bronze Mermaid Statue similar to the one in Denmark, a Kodak spot that no visitor can pass up.
South of the city is the Muslim village of Khao Seng where colorful korlae fishing boats can be seen. The korlae boats are a distinctive style of the southern fishing communities.
The city boasts two significant and impressive museums. The exquisite Songkhla National Museum is the former residence of Songkhla's deputy governor built in 1878 in the southern Thai-Chinese style. Exhibit highlights include earthenware jars recovered from the sea around Songkhla. The Patsree Museum in Wat Matchimawat, or Wat Klang to locals, contains a 35-cm stone image of Ganesh, the Hindu elephant god, that dates back to the late 6 th century, making it the earliest artifact found in the peninsula. It also contains other wares from foreign countries that affirms Songkhla's importance as a former maritime trade center.
Songkhla's Thale Sap (lake) is the nation's largest fresh-water lake with a scenic panorama. The bay's mouth contains many islands, the most popular being Koh Yor for its hilltop perched restaurants, cotton-weaving industry, and fish farms. Spanning three kilometers across the Songkhla Lake, the Tinnasulanon Bridge was named after our highly respected privy councillor, a native of this area. The nation's longest bridge connects Songkhla city with the narrow coastal strip to the north and intersects through Koh Yor in the middle of the lake.
Wat Phra Kho in Sathing Phra District is believed to be the oldest temple in the province. Archeological findings indicate the district was once an important port selling ceramics to foreign traders. The temple was also the former residence of a highly revered senior monk, Luang Poo Tuad, and contains a bronze replica of him for worship.
Wat Tham Talod is a large cavern that burrows through to the other side of the mountain. Inside are ancient Buddha images constructed from wood and encased in cement dating back several centuries. Beside these, there are over 100 different Buddha images and a gigantic, 6-foot tall giant statue guarding the cave entrance.
Located in Nathawee District, the Khao Nam Kang (Mountain Dew) Historical Caves houses a series of caves connected by a complex tunnel system that was formerly used by the Communist group, similar to the ones in Vietnam. It has recently been promoted to a museum and the area was declared a protected park.
The Kukud Nok Nam (waterfowl) Park is located in the restricted gaming zone of the Songkhla Lake in Sathing Phra District and comprised mainly of islands. Sea grasses thrive on these islands, covering it with a vivid green carpet giving the appearance of grass fields in the midst of the lake. Numerous species of birds flock here for the abundant food supply.
The world's third largest reclining Buddha image is found at Wat Hat Yai Nai near Hat Yai. The image is 35 m. long, 15 m. high, and 10 m. wide. You can walk inside the image by entering through a small shrine room. Herbal saunas and massages are offered on the compound.
See the spectacular seven-tier Tone Nga Chang Waterfall located 24 kms. from Hat Yai. The third tier is the most beautiful as the water separates into two streams resembling elephant tusks, thus the literal translation of the waterfall's name.
Wat Matchimawat or Wat Khlang, on Sai Buri Road, is a large temple and the most important in Songkhla. It is about 400 years old. It was said that Yai Si Chan, a millionaire of Songkhla donated a large sum of money to construct the temple. Later on Wat Liap was built to the north, and Wat Pho to the south. The people then changed the name of the temple from "Wat Yai Si Chan" to "Wat Khlang" or "Wat Matchimawat". This temple also has the Phattharasin Museum that houses various artefacts gathered from Songkhla, Sathing Phra, Ranot, and elsewhere.
Songkhla's City Pillar, on Nang Ngam Road, is a revered site to Songkhla's population. The Chinese architectural style building was constructed together with the city itself. Nearby dwellings, especially on Nakhon Nai and Nakhon Nok Roads also bear the same influence. The Chinese immigrants who came to settle there at the beginning of the 24th Buddhist Century had a major role in the establishment of Songkhla, hence, the distinctive Chinese lifestyle of the area.
Laem Sai Estuary Fortress was constructed in the reign of King Rama III, at the time of the city's establishment. Today this fortress is behind the Songkhla Provincial Police Headquarters.
Wat Chai Mongkhon, on Phetmongkhon-Chaimongkhon Road, has a chedi that was built to house the Buddhist relics brought back from Langka by a monk named "Na Issaro" who was teaching Pali there in B.E. 2435.
The Songkhla National Museum on Chana Road, was originally built in B.E. 2421 as the Songkhla ruler's mansion in Chinese style. It became the domicile of Songkhla's upper administrative officers and finally the City Hall. It was converted into a museum in B.E. 2496 to exhibit lower southern artefacts. Today it is the source of local archaeology, history, and folk art and culture. It has a notable collection of the artefacts of the 'Na Songkhla Family' that used to rule the city. It is open to the public, from 9 a.m. to 12 noon and 1 p.m. to 4 p.m., except Mondays, Tuesdays, and public holidays.
Phathammarong Museum on Chana Road near the Songkhla National Museum. It was constructed in a Thai style to resemble the birthplace of H.E. Prem Tinsulanond, the former Prime Minister and Statesman who is a Songkhla native. The construction was based on his testimony when his father was the prison warden.
Ban Sattha is situated on a hill slope overlooking the Tinsulanond Bridge to Ko Yo. It is surrounded by coconut plantations. The city people had it built for H.E. Prem Tinsulanond, the Privy Councilor and Statesman, when he was the Prime Minister. Construction was completed on 26 August B.E. 2534. In B.E. 2539, H.E. Prem gave the house back to the people of Songkhla. There is a public library nearby.
Laem Samila is in the City Municipality, about 2.5 kilometres from the fresh market (Thalat Supsin or Thalat Sot Thetsaban). This peninsula is well-known for its white sandy beach, shady pine groves, and the statue of a mermaid that is Songkhla's symbol. It is serviced by Hat Yai-Songkhla buses. From within the city, one can take a minibus to the beach.
Ko Nu and Ko Maeo well-known symbol of Songkhla, is situated off the shore of Laem Samila. A legend says that a dog, a cat, and a mouse, on a Chinese sampan stole the merchant's magic crystal and tried to swim ashore but drowned and lost their lives. The mice and cats became the islands in the Songkhla Lake while the dog died on shore and became the hill called Hin Khao Tang Kuan near the bay. The crystal was totally destroyed and became the white sandy beach called Hat Sai Kaeo.
Khao Noi, near Laem Samila, has a road to the hilltop for paying homage to the statue of Prince Lop Buri Ramet (The Southern Viceroy), and to view the city. On the east is a public park with food services and tennis courts. On the northeast is Suan Seri, another park with ornamental plants in animal shapes. Tamnak Khao Noi, on the south, was built in B.E. 2454 as the residence of Prince Lop Buri Ramet and was used by His Majesties the King and Queen on their visit to the south in March B.E. 2502. Today the mansion is the residence of the Songkhla Provincial Governor.
Khao Tang Kuan at Laem Samila has the Sala Vihan Daeng, the royal pavilion built during the reign of King Rama V. On the hilltop is a Dvaravati chedi housing the Buddha's relics that was built during the Nakhon Si Thammarat Empire. In October there is a festival to clad the chedi with a cloth, to pull the Buddha's image, and to offer alms to monks. A panoramic view of the city and the Songkhla Lake can be enjoyed on the hilltop.
Laem Son On is situated to the northwest of Laem Samila. It is well shaded with sea pines. At the end of the peninsula stands the statue of Prince Chumphon Khet Udomsak. This peninsula is the best spot to view Ko Nu and the Songkhla Lake.
Khao Kao Seng is located about three kilometres to the south of Hat Samila. It can be reached via the road to The National Coastal Aquaculture Institute. It is one of the beautiful beaches of Songkhla, dotted with large boulders one of which is a rock the locals call "Hua Nai Raeng". It was said that underneath this boulder there used to be treasures stored by the people as funds for the construction of the Nakhon Si Thammarat Chedi and had protecting spirits.
Songkhla Zoo is an open zoo, on the Songkhla-Chana Highway, Tambon Khao Rup Chang. It was established for the preservation of Thai wildlife and to return them to the wild. The zoo covers a hilly area with an asphalt ring road. The various animals have been grouped separately, such camels, birds, red gaur, tigers, crocodiles, and others. One of the highlights in the zoo not to be missed is the viewing point for the city where food stalls are available. For more information please call 0-7432-5037-8.
Songkhla Lake, the only natural lake in Thailand is about 80 kilometres long and 20 to 25 kilometres wide. It is a freshwater lake with brackish water near the mouth. There are several islands across from its mouth, the major ones include Ko Yai, Ko Si, Ko Ha, Ko Kaeo, Ko Mak, Ko Rai, and Ko Yo. Boats are available for touring the lake. The port behind the post office or the fresh market has all-day long-tailed boat services.
Tinsulanond Bridge spans the Songkhla Lake and is part of Highway 408. It is the longest concrete bridge in Thailand, with two parts: the first part connects the coast of Amphoe Mueang Songkhla at Ban Nam Krachai to the southern coast of Ko Yo, this part is about 1,140 metres long; the second part connects the northern shore of Ko Yo to the coast of Ban Khao Khiao, a length of 1,800 metres. It was opened to traffic on 25 September B.E. 2529.
Ko Yo is a small island in the Songkhla Lake but is the important tourist attraction of Songkhla. The island, covering an area of 9,275 rais (3,710 acres), can be reached via Tinsulanond Bridge The coastal plain is suitable for agriculture, resulting in famous fruit-growing such as a special kind of jackfruit called Jampada. Another famous product is the hand-woven fabric.
The Institute for Southern Thai Studies is situated on Ko Yo, near the foot of the second part of the Tinsulanond Bridge. It was established in B.E. 2521 for the studies of southern art and culture. Its museum has comprehensive exhibits on local art, culture, and southern lives as well as artefacts echoing local wisdom accumulated through several generations. The systematic exhibits cover more than 30 rooms displaying history, religion, tradition, occupation, folk play, handicrafts, and various artefacts. Viewing points for the Songkhla Lake and aquaculture farms should not be missed. Admission fee is 50 baht. Call 0-7433 -1185-8.
The word "hat yai" is said to have come from the name of the white sandy beach around Khlong U Taphao, or could have been the name of a large mahat tree (Mahat Yai).
The city of Hat Yai,28 kilometres from the city of Songkhla, is the gateway to the neighbouring countries of Malaysia and Singapore. It is only 60 kilometres from the port of entry at Sadao. Hat Yai has grown significantly into the commercial, transportation, communication, educational, and tourism centre of the south. Tourists can obtain various goods from fresh produce to consumer products such as electrical appliances. Niphat Uthit 1, 2, or 3 Road is the major commercial centre. There are several shopping centres such as Lido Shopping Centre, Odeon Shopping Centre, Sanehanuson, Hat Yai Plaza Shopping Centre, and Si Kimyong Market on Phetkasem Road.
Hat Yai Municipal Park, on Kanchanawanit Road, is six kilometres from the city centre on the Hat Yai-Songkhla highway. It is the major recreation site for the people of Hat Yai and surrounding areas as well. The park is full of beautiful flowering plants, with a pavilion in the middle of the pond, avarium, and food stalls. At the foot of the hill near the avarium stands the statue of King Rama V. There is a Brahman shrine at the hilltop. And at the southern foothill near the boy scout camp stands the jade statue of Guan-yin, the Chinese Goddess.
Wat Hat Yai Nai on Phetkasem Road, near Khlong U Taphao Bridge, is the site of a large reclining Buddha measuring 35 metres long, 15 metres tall, and 10 metres wide, named Phra Phuttha Hattha Mongkhon, believed to be the third largest reclining Buddha in the world - revered by both Thai and foreign tourists. Namtok Ton Nga Chang is located in the Ton Nga Chang Wildlife Sanctuary. It is one of the beautiful waterfalls of the south, about 26 kilometres from the city. Follow the Hat Yai-Rattaphum road for 13 kilometres, then turn left at Ban Hu Rae for another 13 kilometres.
This waterfall has seven levels, the third level is the most beautiful and is named after the waterfall. At the third level the stream separates into two, resembling the elephant's tusks. Treks have been provided for more adventurous tourists. One can hire the motorised tricycle (tuk-tuk) to the waterfall for two to three hours at 300-400 baht, or one can take the minibus from the fresh market (Talat Sot Thet Sa Ban Hat Yai).
Wat Khongkha Liap, situated at Bank Nong Khuan, Mu 5, Tambon Tha Chang. It is the revered Mahanikai temple, often visited by both Thai and foreign tourists.
Namtok Boriphat Forestry Park is about 52 kilometres from Amphoe Mueang Songkhla, on Highway 406, at the 35-36 kilometre stone. Turn onto a dirt road for about one kilometre. It is a small all-season waterfall.
Khao Nam Khang National Park has lush forest cover. There are two waterfalls within this park: Ton Dat Fa and Ton Lat Fa. Tourists can take two routes to the park: from Amphoe Sadao for 26 kilometres or from Amphoe Na Thawi on the Na Thawi-Ban Prakop Road for 31 kilometres. Please call Amphoe Na Thawi Office for more information at 0-7437-1010.
Khao Nam Khang Historic Tunnel is situated in Khao Nam Khang, Mu 1, Tambon Khlong Kwang, about four kilometres from the Park Office. This tunnel was once known as the Piyamit Village 5, run by the Communist insurgents. After almost 40 years of fighting with the Thai Government, the Communist Party terminated the fight and became part of Thai Development Participants in B.E. 2530. It is the largest and longest man-made tunnel in Thailand, completed in two years with three separate corridors and three levels deep. It could accommodate about 200 persons with several rooms such as conference room, sick bay, radio transmission room, kitchen, firing range, and others.
Hat Sakom is about 53 kilometres from Amphoe Mueang Songkhla, on the Songkhla-Chana-Thepha Highway. The beautiful beach is sandy white, suitable for recreation. There are food stalls and lodging. One can hire a fishing vessel to Ko Kham where fish is plentiful and suitable for sport fishing. The island is about two kilometres offshore.
Tham Ru Nok Sak is situated at Mu 4, Tambon Khuha, about 14 kilometres from the Saba Yoi District Office. This 300 metre-long cave has a stream running through it with beautiful stalagmites and stalactites. Visiting the cave involves some hiking and climbing. The surroundings of the cave are lush and very beautiful.
Wat Tham Talot at Ban Tham Talot, Mu 6, Tambon Khao Daeng, about 25 kilometres from the district office. Tham Talot (Talot Cave) in fact is a large tunnel cutting through the hill to the other side. It contains three large chambers with an ancient wooden image of the Buddha covered with plaster, assumed to be several hundred years old. The temple was established in B.E. 2219 and is most revered by the people. The temple contains about 100 images of the Buddha in different postures and sizes. At the tunnel entrance stands a six-metre tall demon figure. The surrounding area is shaded by trees and is a great recreational place.
Chedi Phi Nong Yot Khao Daeng consists of two stupas:
Chedi Ong Dam (The Black Chedi), is situated at the top Khao Daeng, Tambon Khao Daeng. It was built by Chao Phraya Phra Khlang (Dit Bunnak) and Somdet Chao Phraya Borom Maha Phrayurawong to commemorate the victory over the Sai Buri Revolt in B.E. 2373.
Chedi Ong Khao (The White Chedi) was built by Phraya Si Phiphat (That Bunnak) and Somdet Chao Phraya Maha Phichaiyat to commemorate the victory over Sai Buri, Pattani, Penang, and Malayan Revolts. After the victory, Phraya Si Phipat remained in Songkhla for two years and built this Chedi to accompany the first one, then returned to Bangkok.
Khu Khut Waterfowl Park (Tha-le Sap Songkhla Wildlife Refuge) is situated at Mu 4, Tambon Khu Khut, about 55 kilometres from Songkhla, on Highway 4083 and three kilometres from the highway into the park. It was established as a wildlife refuge on 19 April B.E. 2519, covering an area of 227,916 Rais (91,166 acres) in both Songkhla and Phattalung provinces. In fact this waterfowl park is part of Tha-le Sap Songkhla or Songkhla Lake. The survey undertook by the Royal Forestry Department discovered 44 families, 137 genus, and 219 species of avian. The best times to view the birds are from December to March. Boats are provided by the park office at 150 baht an hour. For more information please call the Park Office at Tel: 0-7439-7042.
Wat Cha Thing Phra is located at Mu 4, Tambon Cha Thing Phra, about 200 metres from the District Office. It was established in B.E. 1542. This temple has several ancient ruins from the Srivijaya Period such as Chedi Phra Maha That, Wihan Phra Phutthasaiyat (reclining Buddha), and the bell tower.
Wat Pha Kho or Wat Ratchapraditsathan is located at Mu 6, Tambon Chumphon, on Khao Phatthasing, about 48 kilometres from Songkhla, on the Songkhla-Sathing Phra Highway. This temple was the seat of Somdet Pha Kho or Luang Pho Thuat Yiap Nam Tha-le Chuet, the most revered monk in the south. It was said that one day, a pirate ship sailed along the coast and saw Somdet Pha Kho walking with a different characteristic. The pirates wanted to try out the monk so they docked and kidnapped him. But the ship did not sail very far before it stopped for no apparent reason and had to anchor there for several days until they ran out of freshwater. Somdet Pha Kho took pity on them so he put his left foot in the sea, making it sparkle and turn into freshwater. The pirates became faithful, asked for his pardon, and took him ashore. From then on the people started to pay homage to the monk.
Laem Khwai Rap Wildlife Protection Unit is located at Tambon Ko Yai. The Office is at the Songkhla Lake and can be reached by boat from Khu Khut Waterfowl Park or by a road from Amphoe Khrasae Sin. There are a large number of waterfowls around the Unit and can be seen without having to travel by boat into the Lake, especially in the morning and evening when the birds are out searching for food.
Sacred Pond at Wat Laem Bo Tho is situated at Mu 4, Tambon Ko Yai, about seven kilometres from the District Office. It was said that a monk named Phra Sin Narai and a layman named Khun Wichai Phromsat built this pond on their way from India to Ayutthaya. This sacred pond has clean freshwater all year round.
Wat Ek Choeng Sae is located in Tambon Choeng Sae. Its old name was Wat Ek. It has the revered coral Buddha image that had been covered with plaster. The image is 70 centimetres wide at the lap and 120 centimetres tall.
This border district is in the southern part of the province, adjacent to the State of Kedah in Malaysia, about 60 kilometres from Hat Yai. The major attraction in this district is Wat Tham Khao Rup Chang in Tambon Padang Besar, about 13 kilometres from Padang Besar market. The temple uses the cave as religious ground. The cave has been partitioned into several rooms with delicate stalactites and stalagmites. The surroundings are peaceful and shaded by trees.
Bull Fight is the famous local favourite sport since the time of Phraya Mueang, in the Srivijaya Period. After the harvest, owners would bring their bulls to fight as a gesture of solidarity and festivity. Two bulls would fight each other in each round lasting between 15 to 30 minutes, depending on the bull's conditions. Today each district has its own bull fighting ring with monthly fights on either Saturday or Sunday. Fighting schedules are agreed upon by various district rings.
Khao Java Birds is the favourite domesticated bird in the south. The famous bird-culture area is Amphoe Chana, about 40 kilometres from Amphoe Hat Yai, on Highway 408. Bird singing contests are usually held annually from January to July. Singing birds are judged by their tone, voice, beat, loudness, and continuation. The winners are highly prized and priced.
Shooting for sport in Songkhla can be carried out at two shooting ranges that are open to the public, as follows.
- Ruchirawong Range is located in Amphoe Hat Yai, across from the Hat Yai District Police Office, and is open daily. Please call for more information at 0-7424-3311.
- Songkhla Royal Navy Range is located within the Songkhla Navy Base, on Chalatat Road (on the coast). For more information please call 0-7431-1451-5.
Thai Boxing in Songkhla is held either at the Songkhla Navy Base boxing ring at 0-7431-1451-5 on Wednesday nights, or at the Hat Yai boxing ring at 0-7423-2682.
Golf can be enjoyed at various courses, as follows.
- Hat Yai Exclusive, with 18 holes, is located at Ban Wang Pha, Tambon Thung Sao, Amphoe Rattaphum. Please call 0-7423-4921 or 0-7424-3179
- Hat Yai Country Club, with 9 holes, is located at Ban Phru, Amphoe Hat Yai. Please call 0-7423-2582 or 0-7434-3121.
- Kho Hong Golf Course, with 9 holes, is located at Senanarong Army Camp, Royal Thai Army Region 4. Please call 0-7421-1500-3, extension 549.
- Thong Yai Golf Course, with 9 holes, is located at Samila Beach, Amphoe Mueang Songkhla. Please call 0 7432 3761.
- Southern Hill Golf and Country Club, with 18 holes, is located at Tambon Thung Lung, Amphoe Hat Yai. Please call 0 7434 3560-3.
Songkran Festival is held on 13 April. In Hat Yai the festival is held around Niphat Uthit 1, 2, and 3 Roads, from morning till evening. Malaysians and Singaporeans often join in the festivities with their Thai hosts.
Thai Goods and Produce Promotion Fair is usually held in the middle of July when fruits are at their peak. The fair boasts a large selection of the best agricultural products from all southern provinces both for display and for sale.
Tham Bun Duean Sip is another southern tradition that is held on the full moon of the tenth lunar month. This festival grew from the belief that during the new moon phase in the tenth month, the souls of the deceased relatives and friends, especially those not yet reborn would be released to meet the living relatives. So the living would prepare foods and offer them to the monks in their names. In Sathing Phra this festivity is different than in other districts whereby tall gold figures are paraded as the "proxy" for the deceased who were respected by the villagers.
Lak Phra and Tak Bat Thewo (giving alms) is held on the new moon in the eleventh lunar month, around October of every year in Amphoe Mueang Songkhla. The festivity would start one day before the actual day to wrap a large cloth around the top of the Chedi on Khao Tang Kuan. In the morning of the festival day, alms are offered to monks (tak bat thewo) at the foot of the hill. Several hundred monks would walk down from Khao Tang Kuan to receive the offerings. Late in the morning monks travelling by boat from other temples in Songkhla would proceed along the waterfront so the Buddhist can offer alms and pull their boats along. Such acts are considered highly merited. The monks' boats would congregate at the lotus pond to participate in the boat decoration contest. On the festival ground there are also art and culture performances.
Hotels and accommodation
Aan Aan Hotel : 96 Niphat Uthit 1 Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7424 3471, 0 7424 3229] : 100 baht
Abritus Guesthouse : 28/16 Ramwithi Road,Amphoe Muang [0 7432 6047] : 200 baht
Amaraporn Guesthouse : 98-100 Niphat Uthit 3 Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7423 1487 Fax: 0 7424 3363] : 250-400 baht
Amarin Hotel : 285 Niphat Uthit 1 Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7424 4012, 0 7424 4272, 0 7423 2144 Fax: 0 7423 1025] : 180-340 baht
Ambassador Hotel : 23 Phadungphakdi Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7423 4441-7 Fax: 0 7423 4410] : 480 baht
Amnuaysook Hotel : 151 Saengsi Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7423 1847, 0 7423 7350 Fax: 0 7423 1847] : 160-250 baht
Amsterdam Guesthouse : 15/3 Rong Mueang Road, Amphoe Muang [0 7431 4890] : 180-200 baht
Ao Sai Resort : Tambon Ko Yo, Amphoe Muang [0 7445 0131] : 200-400 baht
Asian Hotel : 55-59 Niphat Uthit 3 Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7435 3400-14 Fax: 0 7423 4890] : 680-850 baht
Asian Hotel : 55-59 Niphat Uthit 3 Road, Hadyai [(66 74) 353-400-14]
B.P. Grand Suite Hotel : 75/1 San ehanuson Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7435 4520-7, 0 7435 5155 Fax: 0 7435 4528] : 1,400-1,600 baht
B.P. Samila Beach Hotel and Resort : 8 Ratchadamnoen Road, Amphoe Muang [0 7444 0222 Fax: 0 7444 0442] : 1,150-16,000 baht
Ban Ton Mai Resort : 20/4 Mu 3 Lopburiramet Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7442 7190] : 350-500 baht
Bang Hak Resort : 636 Sakhon Mongkhon 2 Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7436 3711] : 550 baht
Berlin Guesthouse : 24/5 Sukhaphiban 1 Road, Padang Besar, Amphoe Sadao [0 7452 1901, 0 7452 1902 Fax: 0 74521 903] : 350-400 baht
Cathay Guesthouse : 93/1 Niphat Uthit 2 Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7424 3815, 0 7423 5044 Fax: 0 7435 4104] : 90-250 baht
Central Sukhontha : 1 San ehanuson Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7435 2222-36 Fax: 0 7435 2223] : 3,296-7,415 baht
Century Hotel : 9 Soi 6, Rat Uthit Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7442 4100] : 350-420 baht
Chai Daen : 142 Phetkan Road, Padang Besar, Amphoe Sadao [0 7452 1013, 0 7452 1392] : 180 baht
Chao Thong Resort : 260 Mu 7 Chana-Pattani Road, Amphoe Thepha [0 7432 5292, 0 1959 6454] : 500 baht
Charn Hotel : 469 Sai Buri Road, Amphoe Muang [0 7431 1903, 0 7431 2248] : 200-300 baht
Choke Amnuay Hotel : 161/26-27 Soi 8 Saengsi Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7424 6376, 0 7423 8108] : 150-200 baht
Cholatarn Hotel : 251/1 Saengchan Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7435 4580-6 Fax: 0 7435 4587] : 490-690 baht
City Hotel : 533/1 Sai Buri Road, Amphoe Muang [0 7432 2364-5] : 290-490 baht
City Park Hotel : 717/17 Phetkasem Road, Amphoe Hat Yai [0 7434 5491-5 Fax: 0 7434 5496] : 590-1,400 baht
- Amphoe Muang
Ton Po : Laem Son On Road Tel: 0-7431-1408
Tae Photchana : Nang Ngam Road Tel: 0-7431-1505
Phonthip 1 : 47/1 Mu 4 Tambon Ko Yo Tel: 0-7433-1864
Makr : Laem Son On Tel: 0-7431-2421
Pavilion : 17 Platha Road Tel: 0-7444-1850
Ladda : 1 Wichianchom Road Tel: 0-7431-3111
Coca Suki : 224/1 Saiburi Road Tel: 0-7431-2309
Bun Riam : Ratchadamnoen Road Tel: 0-7431-1484
Bua Kaeo Seafood : 20 Ratchadamnoen Road Tel: 0-7432-2939, 0- 7431-4816
- Amphoe Hat Yai
Chitladda : 50/1 Kanchanawanit Road Tel: 0-7423-6573
Che Lek : 190/3-4 Niphat Uthit 2 Road Tel: 0-7424-4466, 0-7424-6710
Che Ka : Kanchanawanit Road Tel: 0-7436-5264
Cha Nang : 37/1 Niphat Songkhro 1 Road Tel: 0-7423- 6311, 0-7423-0166
Amad : 6/17-8 Niphat Uthit 1 Road Tel: 0-7435-8461
Abidin : Niphat Uthit 1 Road Tel: 0-7423-1865
Hamid : 6/17-18 Niphat Songkhro Road Tel: 0 7424 6463
Hi Wa Thian : 80 San ehanuson Tel: 0-7424-3011, 0-7423- 3261
Hong Yok : 31/33-35 Chiwanuson Road Tel: 0-7424-5124-5
Kan-eng : Niphat Uthit 3 Road Tel: 0-7424-6138
Khaotom Nai Yao : Thammanunwithi Road Tel: 0-7424-6208
How to get there
* By car
From Bangkok, take Highway 4 to Prachuap Khiri Khan, Chumphon, Surat Thani, Nakhon Si Thammarat,Trang-Phatthalung, and Songkhla, a total distance of 950 kilometres.
* By bus
There are daily buses from Bangkok to Songkhla and Hat Yai. The journey takes about 13 hours. Air-conditioned buses, varying in 3 types, depart from Bangkok 's Southern Bus Terminal at the following times:
VIP Bus : 4.30 p.m., 5.30 p.m. and 6 p.m.
Standard 1 Bus : 7 a.m., 4 p.m., 5.30 p.m., 6 p.m., 6.15 p.m., 6.30 p.m., 7 p.m., 8 p.m. and 8.20 p.m.
Standard 2 Bus : 7 a.m. and 9.45 p.m.
Standard 1 Bus : 5 p.m., 6.45 p.m. and 7.30 p.m.
Standard 2 Bus : 8 a.m. and 4.30 p.m.
The schedule may be changed. Please check a current schedule and further information from the Southern Bus Terminal at tel: 0 2435 1199-200. For Hat Yai, call the Transport Co., Ltd. (Bo Kho So) at tel: 0 7423 2789, 0 7423 2404, Piya Tour 0 7442 8972, Thai Doen Rot 0 7442 9525.
From Hat Yai Bus Terminal, there are buses to other provinces in the south. Pho Thong Transportation Co., Ltd. 0 7431 1126 provides buses from Songkhla to Hat Yai. Ranot Transportation Co., Ltd. 0 7431 1523 operates buses from Songkhla to Nakhon Si Thammarat.
* By train
The State Railway of Thailand provides daily rapid and express train services from Bangkok to Hat Yai. The trains depart from Bangkok 's Hualamphong Railway Station at 12.25 p.m., 2.20 p.m., 2.45 p.m., 3.50 p.m. and 10.50 p.m. Travelling time is about 17 hours. For further information call 1690, 0 2223 7020, 0 2223 7030 or Hat Yai Railway Station at 0 7424 3705, 0 7423 8005 or visit www.srt.motc.go.th.
* By plane
Thai Airways has several daily flights connecting Bangkok and Phuket with Hat Yai. For more information, contact their Bangkok office at tel. 1566, 0 2280 0060, 0 2628 2000, their Hat Yai office at tel. 0 7424 5851-2, or view their website at www.thaiairways.com.