Uthai Thani is a province abundant in natural resources, such as forests and wildlife. "Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Reserve" here was proclaimed a Nautral World Heritage Site on 13 December 1991. The reserve has jungles, forests, plains, many streams, and most importantly, a number of rare and endangered animals.
Due to the verdant nature of the area, Uthai Thani is a province with unspoiled natural tourist destinations that are of interest to tourists everywhere. Furthermore, visitors can see the different lifestyles of locals, such as the life of raft residents on Sakae Krang River, a waterway that aided the birth of the province and which has been a lifeline for its people since ancient times. It is also where provincial trading has flourished. Life revolving around the river eventually grew from a community into the major province that it is today.
The most striking indication of the bond between the people and the river since the old days, is that in 1906, when King Rama V visited northern provinces and stayed in Sakae Krang village, the monk Phra Khru Uthai Tham Nithet (Chan) built 2 twin rafts to receive the king. This clearly showed the importance of the river and the lifestyle of the people living off it in that period.
In addition, at the end of the Buddhist Lent, Buddhists from all directions congregate in the province for a major merit-making tradition called Tak Bat Thewo at the foot of Khao Sakae Krang at Wat Sangkat Rattana Khiri. This festival has been held in Uthai Thani since ancient times.
Uthai Thani is located in the lower part of northern Thailand. Most of the province consists of forests and high mountains. It has a total area of 6,730 square kilometres.
Along both banks of the Sakae Krang River , which flows through the entire province, are numerous rafting establishments , home to many river fishermen. Hop onto a boat for a trip downstream to enjoy the scenic surroundings.
Situated at the foot of Khao Sakae Krang Mountain, Wat Sangat Ratana Khiri houses the sacred Buddha image of Phra Phuttamongkon, the city's protector and provincial treasure. From the compound, there are stairs leading to the top of the mountain, where a replica of Lord Buddha's Footprint lies. Wat Chantharam , locally known as Wat Tha Sung, was built during the Ayutthaya era. Highlights include locally drawn murals in the interior of the small hot (hall), an elaborately decorated chapel, and a vast ground with meditation halls.
The Thai Laos ethnic minorities emigrated from Burma to the small village of Coke Mor during the Rattanakosin period, and are renowned for their wide selection of locally made hand woven cloths, featuring modern and traditional design patterns.
Created a century ago and influenced by Rattanakosin period designs, Wat Mani Sathit Kapitharam (Wat Thung Kaew), contains a large holy water pond. The water was blessed by a highly revered monk, the temple's founder, and was used at the ordination ceremony for King Rama 6 and King Rama 7.
A 2-hour trek and climb is required to get to the summit of Khao Plara to view the 40 plus red, prehistoric cave paintings on the western caves, the province's prized historical treasure.
The Huay Kha Kaeng Wildlife Sanctuary expands over Uthai Thani and Tak provinces. The densely forested park is home to many wildlife animals, some on the verge of extinction.' Highlights include the Jone Waterfall with year-round water supply. In 1991, the park was recognized as a World Natural Heritage Site.
The only forest with intact teak trees still in existence is located at Lansak District, the Pa Sak Thammachart (Natural Teak Forest) and has received government endorsement for development into a national park.
An interesting feature of the chapel wall mural at Wat Nong Khun Chat is the painting of a people wearing Western style hats, created during the reign of King Rama V. The temple is also the site of the annual pilgrimage in February paying homage to Lord Buddha's Footprint.
Viewed from a distance, the Khao Phraya Phai Rua Mountain resembles a Chinese junk boat. The forested mountainsides are dotted with complex cavern systems adorned with beautiful limestone formations and illuminated with electricity. A large sleeping Buddha image presides at the cave entrance.
The Science, Technology and Environment Center boasts a vast collection of cultural and technological machinery, including the Kingdom's first typewriter and ancient weaponry.
Wat Ubosatharam was originally called "Wat Bot Manorom" and is located in the municipality on the bank of Sakae Krang River opposite Uthai Thani Fresh Market. It is surmised that it was built in the early Rattanakosin period. Many historical sites and artifacts are found inside, such as wall murals in the convocation hall from the early Rattanakosin period that depict the life of Lord Buddha from birth till death. They are of exquisite craftsmanship. The murals inside the main hall are also from the same period and depict Lord Buddha showing mercy upon angels in heaven and other scenes.
Moreover, there are 3 pagodas, each from different periods and of different styles. Also of interest are the main hall, the convocation hall, the prayer building, the octagonal multi-tiered rood, the Bot Nam raft, the replica of Lord Buddha's footprint from the time of King Rama IV, a silver Buddha image weighing 30 kilograms. Gifts from King Rama V to Luang Pho Chan Wat Bot when the king visited Uthai Thani on 10 August 1906, such as a monk's bowl with a pearl-inlaid lid, a stone monk's bowl, a glazed bowl, a sack used when the king visited Europe, a wide-month urn, and a vase etc, are also on display.
Bot Nam is in front of Wat Ubosatharam on the bank of Sakae Krang River. It was built to receive King Rama V when he visited northern provinces in 1906. Originally a twin raft, it has an elongated carved apex of the gable like normal temple main halls. It also had a front part with a circular sign in Pali stating that the king visited here in good faith. In 1976, the raft was renovated and made into a single raft of floors so it is suitable for monks to use. There is an area for worshippers to sit under a four-sided roof. The sign has been moved to the middle of the front part of the roof. Today, the raft is used by raft residents for religious ceremonies such as weddings, ordinations, funeral, and merit-making activities.
Wat Sankat Rattana Khiri is at the foot of Khao Sakae Krang at the end of Tha Chang Road in the municipality. Inside the main hall is "Phra Phuttha Mongkhon Sai Sit" or "Luang Pho Mongkhon", an ancient bronze Buddha imae form the Sukhothai period in theMan Wichai posture. It is 1.5 metres wide and was made in the reign of King Lithai. In the open area of the temple is a stairway ascending to the top of Khao Sakae Krang totaling 449 steps. At the peak is a pavilion with a multi-tiered roof, housing a replica of Lord Buddha's footprint and a large bronze bell built in the reign of King Rama V. It is said that this is a sacred bell and that visitors to the province who do not ring the bell are likely to never get to see the province.
In addition, in one corner of the temple is a pavilion housing a statue of the father of King Rama I, the founder of the Chakri dynastr, who was born in Ban Sakae Krang.
Getting There: From the city, take Road No. 3220 and turn left into the provincial staduum leading up the mountain. The distance is around 4 kilometres.
Rafts on Sakae Krang River reflect the lifestyle of Uthai Thani people that has always been linked with water. Water is used here to grow pandanus and for raising fish in floating baskets, particularly gourami, which has become a main occupation of the province and made it famous.
Tourists can take a boat to view the life of people living on rafts on Sakae Krang River by boarding at Lan Sakae Pier near Municipal 2 Fresh Market in Amphoe Mueang or boarding at Lan Suphannika in front of the provincial hall on Si Uthai Road. The route passes Wat Tha Sung and ends at Tambon Tha Sung where Sakae Krang River and Chao Phraya River meets. Ther are tour boats serving visitors. For more information, please contact Pan House Travel at Tel: 0-2933-0577, 0-2538-0335, 0-2538-3705.
Wat Chantharam or Wat Tha Sung is at Mu 2, Tambon Nam Sum. It is an old temple from the Ayutthaya period. It was formerly called "Wat Chan" which is the name of an abbot. Wat Chantharam later was abandoned until 1789 when the monk Luang Pho Yai came here. Villagers asked him to become the abbot of the temple and he renovated it. The first location of the temple was on the bank of Sakae Krang River. The artifact of the place is a pulpit built by Luang Pho Yai that is opposite the temple. More buildings were later added by the monk Phra Ratchaphrom Yan Nen (Luang Pho Rusi Ling Dam). The new convocatin hall is beautiful with an ornately decorated interior. The inner windows and doors have pictures of angels. His Majesty the King presided over a ceremony to officially open the building. Surronding the building is a traditional columned wall. Images of Luang Pho Pan and Luang Pho Yai, 3 times the actual size, stand at the corner of the front wall. Furthermore, the new site has a wide area as well as many pavilions with accommodation for meditation. The main hall is open during 09.00-11.45 hrs. and 14.00-16.00 hrs. daily.
Getting There: From the city, take Road No. 3265 to the ferry at Amphoe Manorom, about 6 kilometres away. Wat Than Sung is on both sides.
Local History and Cultural Museum is at the Uthai Thani Provincial Non-formal Education Centre on Si Uthai Road near the city hall. On display are prehistoric human skeletons, clothes, regalia of city lords, and the room of a Thai house and wood models. Advance reservation is necessary. For more information, please call 0-5651-1511.
Wat Thammakhosok called "Wat Rong Kho" by villagers, was built in the early Rattanakosin period. It is on Si Uthai Road, Tambon Uthai Mai in the municipality. It was used to hold rites by Uthai Thani government officials to pledge allegiance to the king as well as an execution site. The most interesting places in the temple are the chapel and the main Buddha Image hall. The chapel is of the Rattanakosin period. A tiled roof covers the building. The Buddha image here is highly sacred. There are beautiful murals inside, the works of late Ayutthaya artists. The main hall is a larger building, and is higher than the chapel. A pedestal inside has around 20 Buddha images on it. The outer windowpanes have plaster drawings of the epic Ramayana as frames. The doors have wooden floral patterns painted in bright red.
Ban Khok Mo Weaving Village is a small village of Thai-Lao residents whose ancestors migrated here in the Rattanakosin period. Villagers take up weaving when the harvest ends. The fabrics produced in the village are unique. They are made from Sin Tin Chok Silk, Mat Mi silk and traditional-style fabrics with floral patterns.
Getting There: From Amphoe Thap Than, take Highway No. 3013 to Amphoe Sawang Arom for approximately 11 kilometres. A 4-kilometre road leads to Ban Khok Mo. The weaving group is next to Wat Khok Mo.
Wat Thap Than was built in the Rattanakosin period around 1897. The locals have shortened the full name to Wat Thap Than. It is said that this area was where Thai troops caught up with invading forces in the late Ayutthaya period. Hence, the name of Thap Than. The monastery has a shady compund with a small chapel and main hall in the traditional style. The item of interest here is the lovely, carved door depicting an angel holding an arrow standing on a serpent, and another, of an angel tending deer holding a pike on a lion. The convocation hall has a main bronze Buddha Image in the Man Wichai posture 1.68 metres wide. The main hall houses a replica of Lord Buddha's footprint in bronze.
Getting There: Take Highway No. 3221 (Amphoe Mueang-Amphoe Thap Than) for 19 kilometres. The temple is located on the left about 1 kilometre before the Thap Than district office.
Bung Khok Chang Ancient City was a town surrounded by a moat and an earth wall. A sacred pond is at the outer corner of each wall. Artifacts unearthed here include tools, utensils and a stone scripture in Mon. Evidence points to the items being from the Dvaravati period. Objects found to date are pot fragments, black and brown jars, blades, iron spears, and colored beads made into ornaments.
Getting There: From the city, take Highway No. 3221 past Amphoe Thap Than onto Highway No. 3013 past Amphoe Sawang Arom. From there take Highway No. 3456 to Amphoe Lan Sak. The distance from Amphoe Sawang Arom is about 14 kilometres. A pagoda can be seen on the left with a ban Bueng Khok Khwai sign (this road runs straight through Bung Khok Chang.)
Prehistoric coloured drawings at Khao Pla Ra can be seen at Khao Pla Ra, a mountain range with verdant jungles, no communities and natural water sources. It is also the home of numerous wild animals. It has truly lovely natural surroundings in the area around the cave, and cliffs in the southwestern part of the mountain, around 320 metres avove sea level. Colour cave drawings stretch for around 9 metres. These prehistoric drawings are of humans and animals in red and black. They show an agrarian society and are artistic expressions of people in ancient times. The drawings give insight into their lifestyle and homesteads. They are certainly invaluable as [part of the artistic heritage of the country. A number of earthenware pieces of three-legged pots and stone axes were also found in the area.
Getting There: From the city, take Road No. 333 past Amphoe Nong Chang, then take Road No. 3438 (Amphoe Nong Chang-Amphoe Lan Sak) for around 21.5 kilometres. You will see the Pla Ra Mountain range on the left. Then turn left onto an asphalt road for about 7.5 kilometres and continue on foot for about 2 kilometres up the mountain to the peak, to see the prehistoric drawings. The total distance from the city is around 51.6 kilometres.
Hup Pa Tat Cave is a large valley with an area of about 48,000 square metres. The mountain range surrounding the valley is a limestone range. Part of it is Khao Huai Sok that connects with Khao Pla Ra, about 1 kilometre away. On the way up to the cave is a margosa forest. Upon reaching the cave mouth you will see a dark cave. After a walk of around 100 metres, you will emerge from darkness and see the way down to the valley. Looking around you will see a limestone mountain surrounded by high cliffs. This enables sunlight to reach the ground only at midday. Therefore, the valley has higher humidity than other parts and this contributes to a wealth of flora. The thick jungle features gigantic shrubs of the genus Excoecaria that are similar to prehistoric trees.
Getting There: Use the same route as Khao Pla Ra. It is 300 metres before the mountain.
Khao Khong Chai Cave is on a limestone mountain range that is about 353 metres high. The range is naturally beautiful and has a large cave in front, where stone tools and earthenware pieces were discovered. It is believed that it was the dwelling of prehistoric people. The cave is now the home of numerous bats.
Getting There: From the city, take Road No. 333 past Amphoe Nong Chang. From there, take No. 3438 (Amphoe Nong Chang-Amphoe Lan Sak Route). About 2 kilometres before reaching Amphoe Lan Sak, there is a left turn into Lan Sak Witthaya School. Continue on for 500 metres to Khao Khong Chai. It is around 52.4 kilometres from the city.
Khao Phraya Phai Rua is in Mu 5 of Tambon Lan Sak. The mountain is shaped like a Chinese junk and is surrounded by a natural moat. It is covered with assorted plants and there are altogether, 12 caves leading underground. Each cave has distinctive stalactites and stalagmites, like Kaeo Cave, Si Chomphu Cave, Thong Phra Rong Cave, Ang Nam Mon Cave, Phuttha Sathan Cave, Khao Pha Raet Cave and ending with Phra Non Cave. In front of this cave is a large natural pond that is teeming with a variety of fish, plus beautiful scenery.
Getting There: From Amphoe Lan Sak, take Highway No. 3438 to Huai Kha Khaeng for avout 4-5 kilometres. A sign tells you to turn right for 4 kilometres to Phraya Phai Rua Cave.
Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Reserve consists of almost every kind of forest found in Thailand, including mountain virgin forest, dry virgin forest and pine forest. It has a total area of about 2,780 square kilometres. The reserve covers the sub-districts (Tambon) of Rabam and Pa O in Amphoe Lan Sak; Khok Khwai and Kaen Makrut in Amphoe Ban Rai; Thong Lang in Amphoe Huai Khot; and Mae Lamung of Amphoe Um Phang in Tak. The reserve also connects with Thung Yai Naresuan in Kanchanaburi. The unspoiled nature of the reserve makes it an ideal home to various rare and endangered animals such as wild buffalo, rhinoceros, wild elephant, red gaur, tapir, leopard, wild bull, etc. In addition, it is the watershed of rivers flowing to Srinakharin Dam. Due to these attributes, Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Reserve was named by UNESCO as a Natural World Heritage Site on 13 December 1991.
Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Reserve has 3 points through which visitors can tour the area:
- The area around the reserve headquarters is in Amphoe Lan Sak, 34 kilometres from the district. The area has an exhibition building and the Sup Nakhasathian Memorial. The Khao Hin Daeng walking nature trail is about 4 kilometres long. There is also the Pong Thian viewpoint.
- The area around the Cyber Forest Protection Unit in Amphoe Huai Khot is the site of the Huai Kha Khaeng Nature and Wildlife Study Centre, set up by a private organization called the Suep Nakhasathian Foundation, under the approval of the Royal Forestry Department. The centre consists of a study, a nature trail that has direction and information signs, trailside exhibitions, and viewpoints, among others.
- The area around Huai Mae Di Noi Forest Protection Unit in Amphoe Ban Rai, has a nature study walking trail arranged by the Royal Forestry Department for educational purposes.
All 3 points are open to tourists who wish to visit the reserve and study nature. For more information, please contact the Wildlife Conservation Division, Royal Forestry Department, Tel: 0-2561 4292-3 twenty days in advance or Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Reserve, P.O. Box 4, Amphoe Lan Sak, Uthai Thani 61160.
Getting There: There are 2 routes to the reserve:E nter through the reserve headquarters that is about 102 kilometres from the province, or take the Uthai Thani-Nong Chang road (Highway No. 333) past Amphoe Nong Chang to Highway No. 3438 (Nong Chang-Lan Sak) to Km. 53-54, then turn left onto a laterite road for about 14 kilometres.
Cyber Waterfall is in Huai Kha Khaeng Wildlife Reserve and tourists are permitted to visit it. The waterfall is situated amidst natural surroundings, mainly the Huai Kha Khaeng forest. The water comes from the western mountain of the reserve, resulting in a medium-sized waterfall that drops down several levels before splashing on the boulders below.
Beneath the waterfall is the Cyber Forest Protection Unit. From here, tourists must walk 105 kilometres to the waterfall.
Getting There: From Uthai Thani, take the Uthai Thani-Nong Chang-Ban Rai road for about 79 kilometres. From Amphoe Ban Rai, take Highway No. 3282 to Cyber village in Tambon Khok Khwai for another 30 kilometres. A sign, points to the waterfall, turn right and follow for 7 kilometres.
Note: The route into the waterfall is 7 kilometres long and is a rough laterite road. It is unsuitable for low cars and sedans.
Ban Samo Thong Hot Spring is in Mu 2, Tambon Thong Lang. This is a small spring that sprouts up to the surface. The hot water from underground converges to form a little stream that flows down to Than Khok Khwai or Huai Khun Kaeo. The water is clear and pungent with the aroma of sulphur. The water is so hot that it can boil an egg in 5 minutes. The Royla Irrigation Department has constructed Huai Khun Kaeo Reservoir, flooding the stream and the spring itself. However, an earth levee has been developed around the spring, and some landscaping has been done to create a good rest area for visitors. The spring has an area of 4,000 square metres and consists of 3 springs. A mineral bath is available for tourists, and nearby is a 20-metre-high Buddha Image, sitting high amidst the wonderful scenery of the area.
Getting There: From Amphoe Ban Rai, take Highway No.3282 (Amphoe Ban Rai-Amphoe Huai Khot) to Km. 41, then turn right to Ban Wang Yang Samo Thong for another 24 kilometres. The total distance from the city is 64 kilometres.
Wat Khao Wong is a temple in a valley. It has a beautiful, two-storey Thai-style convocation hall. The area has been exquisitely landscaped. The monastery is the 13 th of 19 branches of Wat Sangkhathan in Nonthaburi, that have spread to places such as Chiang Mai, Um Phang, the United Kingdom, and India. The monastery was built in 1987 and has a total area of 320,000 square metres. The surrounding area is mountain and forest.
The most striking feature of Khao Wong Monastery is the 4-storey Thai-style multi-purpose pavilion. Built almost entirely of wood, the pavilion has a pond in front with many fish. Around the pond is a garden of colourful flowers. The wood used in the pavilion's construction was donated by locals, and has been transformed into a work of architecture that retains natural qualities.
The monastery has a monthly meditation class for those who are interested.
Getting There: Use the same route as if going to Phu Wai Cave. It is about 3 kilometres before the cave (there is a cooperative store selling souvenirs and free accommodation for up to 200 persons).
Pha Rom Yen Waterfall is in Ban Mai Rom Yen. The highlight of the waterfall is its uniqueness of being a limestone waterfall that falls from a cliff. It can be clearly seen from the road nearby. This beautiful waterfall flows from a small stream, 4 levels up. It is about 100 metres high. The highest level is a stream that falls down to a pool on the second level. The highest level is the level that can be viewed from the entrance. The beauty of this waterfall lies in the fact that it falls down a high cliff, splashing into mist down below. The nearby area is bright green with moss and ferns. The surrounding natural foliage provides cool shade for visitors.
Getting There: From Amphoe Ban Rai, take Highway No. 3011 (Ban Rai-Phu Bon) to the entrance of Ban Mai Rom Yen, then turn right for around 2 kilometres. Then go on foot for 400 metres from the entrance to the waterfall.
Ban I Mat-I Sai Hill Tribe Cultural Centre and Karen Village , is situated in Tambon Kaen Makrut. The centre has a house with a raised lower floor, a thatched roof, and bamboo walls. This is a replica of a Karen house for tourists to see, and there is also a room displaying the tools and utensils of Karens. There is accommodation available, plus a cultural performance if advance notice is given. Moreover, there are hill tribe volunteers to take visitors to see nearby areas. For more information, please contact Tel: 0-5652-0723, 0-5651 -2026.
The Karen village near here is Chao Wat Yang Daeng, which strictly adheres to old traditions. It leads a simple lifestyle and has a peaceful atmosphere. The interesting event of this village is the New Year Festival that is held on the fullmoon night of April
Getting There: From Amphoe Ban Rai, take Highway No. 3011 (Ban Rai-Phu Bon) for about 17 kilometres.
Tak Bat Thewo Fair at Wat Sangkat Rattanakhiri, is the most important event and is held around October. Hundreds of monks residing within the Muang district, walk down the steps from the top of Khao Sakaekrang, to accept food offerings from Buddhist devotees who gather in the ground of the temple. The fair is based on the traditional belief that the Lord Buddha on one occasion returned to earth from heaven.
Hotels and accommodation
- 333 House : 1/12 Phahonyothin Road Amphoe Muang [Tel: 0 5652 4883] : 150-200 baht
- Amornsuk : 71/7-21 Rakkandi Road, In front of Uthai Thani Hospital Amphoe Muang [Tel: 0 5651 2164, 0 5652 4339] : 150-350 baht
- Huai Kha Khaeng Chetthasin : 76/23 Toep Siri Road, Tambon Uthai Mai Amphoe Muang [Tel: 0 5652 4833-5 Fax: 0 5651 1264] : 650-2,500 baht
- Huai Khakhaeng Country Home Resort : 102 Mu 8 Tambon Khok Khwai Amphoe Ban Rai [Tel: 0 2373 6351, 0 2373 6038 Fax: 0 2729 5247] : 800-4,800 baht
- Huai Pa Pok Resort : 69 Mu 10 Ban Rai Amphoe Ban Rai [Tel: 0 5653 9085, 0 1949 5587] : 500-3,500 baht
- Huaykhakhaeng Countryhome Resort : 102 Moo 8, Kok Kwai, Ban Rai [(66 2) 260-2515]
- Pang Naret Resort : 113 Mu 3 Ban Hin Tum Amphoe Ban Rai [Bangkok Tel: 0 2561 1417, 0 2579 1295] : 600-2,500 baht
- Phibunsuk : 336 Si Uthai Road Amphoe Muang [Tel: 0 5651 1048] : 190-500 baht
- Local Cuisine
- Kangsadaln : 173 Rak Karndi Rd., Tel: 0-5652-4492
- Koh Tee Khao Man Kai : 107 Rat-uthit Rd., New City, Tel: 0-5652-4646
- Kesorn Aharn Isan : 26/17-19 Rak Karndi Rd., Tel: 0-5651-2245
- Krua Rim Suan : 10/4 Sri Uthai Rd., Tel: 0-5651-2025
- Krua Sakae Krang : 20/1 Sakae Krang Nok, Tel: 0-5652-0126
- Chon Thong : 95/28 Pornpibun Uthit Rd., Tel: 0-5651-1627
- Tuiplarat : 276/12 Tah Chang Rd., Tel: 0-5651-2375
- Nok Noi : 146/2-3 Sri Uthai Rd., Tel: 0-5651-1952
- Porntip : 291 Wong Saroj Rd., Tel: 0-5651-1659
- Prom Tasung : 72 Moo 1, Uthai-Manorom Rd., Tel: 0-5651-1784, 0-5651-1982
How to get there
* By car
a) From Bangkok, take Highway No. 32, passing Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, ang Thong, Sing Buri, and Chai Nat, then turn left at Tha Nam Oi at Km.206. From there, cross the bridge spanning the Chao Phraya River and turn left onto Road No. 333 for 16 km. The total distance is around 222 kilometres.
b) From Bangkok, take Highway No. 32 pass Phra Nakhon Si Ayutthaya, then turn left across the bridge to Ang Thong. Go through Sing Buri, Amphoe Sapphraya, Chao Phraya Dam, Amphoe Wat Sing, Wat Tha Sung, and into Uthai Thani Market. The total distance is about 283 kilometres.
c) From Bangkok, take Road No. 340 past Suphan Buri, turn left onto Road No. 357, then right onto No. 322 past Amphoe Don Chedi. From there, turn right onto Road No. 3264 to Ban Sa Krachom. Then turn right onto Road No. 333 to Ban Rai intersection and another right to Amphoe Mueang. The total distance is about 302 kilometres.
* By bus
There are daily, regular and air-conditioned Bangkok - Uthai Thani buses during 05.00-16.00 hrs. For more information, please contact the Northern Bus Terminal (Mo Chit), Tel: 0 2936 2852-66, and Uthai Thani Bus Terminal, tel 0 5651 1914.