Samut Sakhon was formerly called "Tha Chin" probably because, in the old days, it had been a trading port dealing with a vast number of Chinese junks. In 1548, a town named "Sakhon Buri" was established at the mouth of the Tha Chin River. It was a centre for recruiting troops from various seaside towns. The name of the town was changed into "Mahachai" when Khlong (canal) Mahachai was dug in 1704 to join the Tha Chin River at the town. Later, the town was renamed "Samut Sakhon" by King Rama IV but it is still popularly called "Mahachai" by the villagers. Samut Sakhon occupies a total area of 872 sq km and is administratively divided into 3 districts: Muang Samut Sakhon, Krathum Baen, and Ban Phaeo. It is a major fishing port and also the biggest producer of brine salt.
North : Bangkok and Nakhon Pathom
South : Samut Songkham
East : Bangkok and Samut Songkham
West : Samut Songkham and Ratchaburi
Festival & Events
Don Chedi Memorial Fair
When : January
Location : Mueang District
In 1592 at Don Chedi, King Naresuan the Great won a famous duel on elephant with the leader of an enemy force. This fair commemorates the momentous event with historical exhibitions, outdoor entertainment, and the high spirits characteristic of all Thai festivals.