Nakhon Nayok is another tourist destination not far from Bangkok. The province comes alive during the holidays with tourists. Nakhon Nayok is renowned for it's refreshing waterfalls and abundant varieties of fruits.
Historically, it is believed that the area of Ban Dong Lakhon, which is situated to the south of Nakhon Nayok town, was a Dvaravati settlement, dating back for more than a thousand years. As for the name of "Nakhon Nayok”, records going back to the Ayutthaya's period indicated that it was an Eastern frontier town during the reign of King U-Thong. In 1894, under the royal command of King Rama V, Nakhon Nayok was designated as a part of Prachin Buri province. Eventually, it became a province.
In the past, Nakhon Nayok was called "Ban Na” (village of the rice field). From hearsay, during Ayutthaya period, Nakhon Nayok was just a forested highland, on which farming nor planting was fruitful. Jungle fever was everywhere, thus the town people migrated elsewhere, leaving the place deserted. News of the plight of people reached the King. Subsequently, the King commanded that paddy field taxes be lifted to encourage the people to stay on, which worked, and also enticed the people around the area to migrate to the town. After that, it became a large community and the town was renowned as "Muang Nayok” (the town that paddy (tax) was lifted).
Khao Yai National Park is the nation's largest national park with Nakhon Nayok forming a quarter of the total park area. The park's dense forests and sprawling high altitude contains a variety of wildlife still in existence in the wild. Several beautiful waterfalls are featured here, including the formidable Heo Narok (Chasm of Hell) which claims at least one elephant death per year since it runs through the wild elephants' natural jungle path. Great for organized jungle treks.
Dating from the Davaravati Period (6 th -13 th century), the Dong Lakhon Ancient City is an oval-walled settlement measuring 600 meters at its widest and 700 meters at its longest. Religious artifacts such as Buddha heads, seals and jewelry have been excavated from this site and are now exhibited at the Prachin Buri National Museum.
The Sarika Waterfall is a popular, picturesque 9-tiered fall cascading down a forested hillside. Another beautiful fall is the Nang Rong Waterfall where water flows over large rocks down multi-levels, with every level containing a pool suitable for swimming.
The extensive botanical garden of privately owned Wang Takhrai's beautiful landscape is decorated with variety of plants and contains a large stream flowing right through it. Popular activities include riding downstream on inflated tire inner tubes, canoeing, and cycling. The Phra Chulachomklao Military Academy is a training center for future military officers. Within the vast property are sites of interest opened to the public, such as a museum, a golf course, and a shooting range. They've recently initiated a ‘boot camp program' which allows the public to experience some of the thrilling military exercises.
Phra Phuddachai is a painting etched on a cliff wall near Khao Cha Ngok. The original painting featured a faint Buddha image was retraced to be more visible by the military in 1942. The locals regard this as one of the province's most sacred sites.
The inside of the city pillar is elaborated decorated with one corner dedicated to Narai, a Hindu god, and another corner to a Buddhist image from the Ayutthaya period.
The Chao Por Khun Dan Shrine is one of the highly respected shrines by the locals. According to legend, he led Nakhon Nayok's local administration under the Ayutthaya era. In 1587, Khmer invaders conquered the towns of Nakhon Nayok and Prachin Buri. Chao Por Khun Dan mobilized the people and successfully expelled the invaders out.
Because of its proximity to a cemetery for Japanese soldiers from WWII, a memorial dedicated to the soldiers is contained within Wat Phramani grounds.
San Lak Mueang (City Pillar Shrine) at one time it was a shrine housing a 1-metre wooden column topped with a carving in the form of a lotus bud, situated near the Old City Wall, which at present is the residence of the Provincial Land Assistant as well as the Municipality Sanitary Service Centre. In 1910, the neglected city pillar was enshrined at the Red Building in the women school of Sri Nakhon Nayok School. Later the shrine was rebuilt into an elegant four-cornered pavilion. Nowadays, City Pillar Shrine is the most revered shrine of the townspeople.
Chulachomklao Royal Military Academy , located in Tambon Phrommani, 14 kilometres from Nakhon Nayok town and 75 kilometres from Bangkok using the Bangkok-Ongkharak route. The Academy is adjacent to Khao Cha-ngok Mountain and occupies an area of about 3,000 Rais (1,200 acres). It is a training centre for the Thai military cadet. There are several interesting attractions in the Academy compound, which can be accessed by car. However, if you should prefer the peace and quiet and would rather be close to nature, bicycles can be rented at the tourist centre in the Academy compound.
Attractions in the Chulachomkloa Royal Military Academy include:
King Rama V Monument , situated at the general headquarters of the Academy on Khao Cha-ngok. It was built in honour of and reverence to His Majesty King Chulalongkorn (King Rama V) who was the founder of the Chulachomklao Royal Military Academy. The monument depicts a seated King Chulalongkorn in full Army regalia, bearing the Royal Insignia of the Supreme Commander of the Thai Forces.
Circular Pavilion , historically, under the command of Field Marshall Crown Prince Pitsanulok Prachanat, the circular pavilion was built as a recreation area for the military cadet. It enshrines a sculpture of King Rama V.
100 Year Royal Military Academy Museum exhibits biographies of the graduates who performed public services and also displays history of wars, weapons that were used in wars in the past, various uniforms of soldiers of all forces as well as a wax sculpture of King Rama V. It is open daily from 08.30-16.30. Admission is 10 baht.
Shrine of Chao Pho Khun Dan is a revered shrine of the Thais. Historically, Khun Dan was a commander in Nakhon Nayok during the Ayutthaya period. His heroic deed was the expulsion of the Khmer rebels in the year 1587, during the reign of King Naresuan Maharat. Whilst Thailand was involved in a war with the Burmese, the Khmer took the opportunity and invaded the country and herded residents of Prachin Buri back to Cambodia. The Khmers also conquered Prachin Buri and Nakhon Nayok. Khun Dan gathered people, retreated, and set-up camp at Khao Cha-ngok and later defeated and expelled the Khmers from Nakhon Nayok. There is also hearsay about his supernatural powers. During World War II, the Japanese army set-up camp at Khao Cha-ngok. They vandalized and tore down the Shrine. Subsequently, a lot of the Japanese troops died mysteriously. It is believed that the spirit of Khun Dan took his revenge.
Phra Phutthachai or Wat Phra Chai was formerly named "Wat Khao Cha-ngok”. At first it was a painting on a cliff face of a small hill near Khao Cha-ngok. There is no exact history of Phra Phutthachai, however, but from word of mouth it is said that, originally, the painting depicted various images of Buddha in many postures. In the year of 1942, the Army's Map Department built a marble quarry at the foot of the hill and restored and enhanced the Buddha images. Phra Phutthachai is sacred to the townspeople. Every year during the 3 rd month of the lunar calendar, the Phra Phutthachai Worship festivities is held.
Be hind the temple is "Namtok Phra Chai” (Phra Chai Waterfall) , a small waterfall that cascades some 30 metres from a cliff into a basin below which is completely filled during the rainy season. Locals and visitors alike can enjoy themselves in the basin. Besides these attractions, there are several sporting activities available for the public including shooting, which is done at a standard shooting range. There is also canoeing and a rescue sledge that can be enjoyed at the Academy's reservoir. There is also an 18-hole golf course in the Academy compound. Group activities like trekking and camping are available at Khao Cha-ngok. Climbing either a real cliff or an artificial one is possible with at least 7 days advanced booking. Accommodation and restaurants are available. For more information, contact the Tourist Information Centre, located in the Military Housewife Association Building, Royal Military Academy branch, during the time of 08.00-16.00, tel: 0-3739-3010-5 ext. 62961-2.
Luang Pho Sian Nakhon the revered Buddha image of the townspeople is enshrined at Bunnak Rakkitaram temple (Wat Tam). It is assumed that this sacred Buddha image dates back to Phra Ruang Era of the Sukhothai period. During an excavation at a whisky brewery, located near Wat Nang Hong, Tambon Tha Chang in the year 1952, the head of a Buddha image was found. The head was kept at a school then known as Nayok Phitthaya School (at present no longer exists), later it was enshrined at Wat Bunnak Rakkitaram. In 1968, the rest of the parts of the Buddha image other than the Buddha's head was recreated and a new chapel was constructed to house the new completed Buddha image. Since then, the Buddha image came to be known as "Luang Pho Sian Nakhon”.
Lord Buddha's Footprint Replica at Khao Nang Buat , housed in a square structure with four arches and a pyramidal roof (mondop) on top of Nang Buat hill. The hill is located in Tambon Sarika, which is 9 kilometres from Nakhon Nayok town. The hill is about 100 metres high with a concrete staircase running from the base of the hill to the top comprising 227 steps. This replica of the Lord Buddha's Footprint was built in 1858 on the 8 th day of the waning moon in the 12 th month of the lunar calendar in the Year of the Cock. The festivities to worship the Lord Buddha's Footprint Replica at Khao Nang Buat is held annually in the middle of the fifth month of the lunar calendar.
Ban Dong Lakhon Archeological Site is located in Tambon Dong Lakhon, which is 9 kilometres to the south of Nakhon Nayok town. It was formerly called " Mueang Lap Lae "(a mysterious town).
It is the site of the location of the old town during the Khmer period. It is surrounded by earthen walls and culverts that the locals call "San Khu Mueang” meaning double city walls with water canals all around, which is of Dvaravati style common in the central region of Thailand. There were two peaks of civilization, of which the first was between the 14 th to the 16 th Buddhist Century which was of Dvaravati culture. The second peak was between the 17 th to the 19 th Buddhist century which was a blend of Khmer culture and a pre-Ayutthaya architectural style. It is believed that during 19 th Buddhist century, Dong Lakhon people might have migrated to live along the major rivers in Nakhon Nayok and is assumed to be associated with Si Mahosot town, which was 55 kilometres away. Artefacts discovered in this are include; an elaborate gold head of a Buddha image about the size of a fingertip, crab and elephant ring-stamps, bronze ring, glass beads, rock beads, and bronze ear-rings.
According to legend, Mueang Lup Lae was a town where the Queen of Cambodia resided, thus other people's comings and goings weren't easy. The town itself was teeming with dense tall trees, visitors to this town often are not able to find their way out and are kept in the mystical town's area. Prior to a Buddhist day and on a Buddhist day itself, locals are often quoted as being able to hear classical Thai music, resembling the music played during the performance of a Thai classical play in a palace. Thus the locals named the area "Dong Lakhon (play)”, and another assumption is that Dong Lakhon might have come from "Dong Nakhon”. The Fine Arts Department registered Dong Lakhon as a national historical site on March 8, 1935.
37 th Quartermaster Infantry of Japanese Military Memorial , located at Phrommani Temple, Tambon Sarika, 5 kilometres on the way to Namtok Sarika-Nang Rong. During World War II, the 37 th Quartermaster Infantry of the Japanese Military camped at this temple. The Friend of Asian Alliance War Association built the memorial in 1992 to honour the 7,920 Thai soldiers who were recruited into the Japanese 37 th Quartermaster Infantry that died in the war. Their relics were moved from the temple and placed in the memorial altar.
In the church, there is a very elaborately-decorated Buddha image whose lips are red. According to hearsay, the Buddha image had been brought from Vientiane by the migrating Laotians during a war. The Buddha image is commonly called "Phra Phuttarup Pak Daeng” (the red lipped Buddha image). Normally the chapel is closed, but visitors can see the Buddha image with the approval of the abbot.
Namtok Sarika is the most famous waterfall of Nakhon Nayok, located in Tambon Sarika. It is situated to the northeast of Nakhon Nayok town, in the Khao Yai National Park. The waterfall cascades down in 9 levels, of which the top level is 200 metres up. Each level (of 9 levels) of the falls has a large basin, which could hold a large amount of water in the rainy season, but it is dried up in dry season. Accommodation, restaurants and souvenir shops are available. The local products of brooms and artificial flowers made from wild pine are sold here.
Getting there : a very convenient drive along highway number 3049 for about 12 kilometres, then take a left turn into Highway 3050 for another 3 kilometres
Nearby, there is "Sarika Cave” where the revered monk "Luang Pu Man” resided on his religious missions from 1917-1920. The cave's outer feature is that of a hill, within the cave, there are residences of monks and nuns as well as Luang Pu Man's meditation place and a chapel which is located at the very top of the walk way up the hill.
Lan Rak Falls or Tat Hin Kong Falls , situated in Tambon Phrommani on the way to Namtok Sarika and Namtok Nang Rong. You can get there by taking a left turn at Prachakasem intersection (about 8 kilometres on the route to the Saithong reservior), and then continue on a laterite road for another 5 kilometres The attractive waterfall originates from a small stream passing through a large rocky formation at the end, then flowing strongly through the large rocky formation at the foot of a small hill. This is a very unique and beautiful waterfall, but which can be seen only in the rainy season.
Wang Takhrai , located in Tambon Hing Tang near Namtok Nang Rong and is 16 kilometres from Nakhon Nayok town. The place is owned by Krommamuen Nakhon Sawan Sakpinij and M.R. Phantip Bariphat. Wang Takhrai is filled with huge, shady trees and has a small stream running through. The are also a variety of beautiful species of ornamental flowers and plants. It is located on an area of 1,500 Rais (about 600 acres) of land. A drive around the area can be made by car. A one-day trip in Wang Takhrai is possible; nevertheless, a camping site for an overnight stay is available.
Admissions are:car (with 5 persons) 50 bahtvisitor 5 baht
Nang Rong Falls or Namtok Nang Rong , situated in Tambon Hin Tang. It is 20 kilometres to the northeast of Nakhon Nayok town on Highway Number 3049. The waterfall originates from a source on a high mountain in Khao Yai National Park. It cascades down several levels onto rock formations, flowing through verdant forests. Although at every level the height of the falls is not much, but its natural scenic beauty is what makes it a popular tourist attraction during the weekends. Within the falls' ground, bungalows and restaurants are available.
Admission fees are:
Bus (including passengers) 100 Baht
Car (including passengers) 50 Baht
Van 100 Baht
Motorcycle 10 Baht
Visitor 3 Baht
Huai Prue Reservoir , situated in Tambon Khao Phra. It is accessed by taking a left turn at kilometre 1 marker of the Namtok Sarika-Nang Rong road into Khao Thurian road for another 11 kilometres This is a small reservoir by volume but has a large water surface. The reservoir is filled all year round and surrounded by an unpaved road. Because of the reservoir's beautiful landscape, the Tourism Authority of Thailand is developing the area into a real recreation attraction for the general public and, due to the possible use of the reservoir for rowing, canoeing, boat sailing, and windsurfing in some season, into a potential water sports centre of Nakhon Nayok as well.
Sai Thong Reservoir , located in Tambon Khao Phra, on the same road as Huai Prue Reservoir, but 4 kilometres further away. This small reservoir offers a natural mountainous landscape. Two kilometres further from the reservoir is the Sai Thong Falls. The small waterfall runs all throughout the year. The fall is accessible by a thirty minute walk from the reservoir.
Phra Phutthabat Si Roi or 4 Traces of Lord Buddha Footprint is enshrined in a square pavilion with arches on all four sides in Wat Thong Yoi. It is a valuable historical site, representing splendid casting technique of the Thai craftsman of old. The worship fair is held annually on the 15th day of the 3rd lunar calendar.
Namtok Ka-ang is situated in Tambon Khao Peum. It is accessed by driving from Nakhon Nayok town on Suwanson road to Amphoe Ban Na. Upon reaching Amphoe Ban Na, across from the Ban Na Police Station, there is a road that goes to the waterfall. The distance down this road is another 11 kilometres. Ka-ang is a small but lovely waterfall. Physically, it is like water flowing through a field of big stones. The water cascades through gaps between large rocks. This waterfall does not yet have any facilities for tourists, but offers only natural beauty. Nearby, there is an Agriculture Transplanting station of the Forestry Department. In the vicinity is a small hill that enshrines the Buddha image in an attitude of subduing Mara.
Namtok Heo Narok is located to the south of Khao Yai National Park. This is a 3-tiered large waterfall with its first tier at 60 metres high. A great volume of water cascades from this tier to the 2 nd and 3 rd tiers. During the rainy season, there is such a lot of water that the flow is frightening and will drop straight down at 90 degrees to a lower chasm.
Getting there : By Car: driving from Nakhon Nayok town on Suwannason Road, take a left turn to Highway Number 3077 at Neon Hom intersection or Naraesuan roundabout in Prachin Buri province, and then continue driving to kilometre 24 marker.
By Bus: The Transport Co., Ltd. operates Bangkok-Prachin Buri busses from the Northern Bus Terminal on Kamphaengphet 2 Road. Getting off at Naresuan intersection and then ride a chartered local truck (Song Thaeo) to Khao Yai National Park.
Namtok Wang Muang , located in Tambon Na Hinlad. From Suwannason Road, take the left turn leading to Amphoe Pak Phli and keep going for another 16 kilometres The route is in good condition all the way to the waterfall. The waterfall features cascades through lines upon lines of big boulders and falling to a basin. The area is amongst lush forest. If you should desire to go to the top of the falls, it is a 2 kilometre walk uphill.
Thudongkhasathan Thawon Nimit is a meditation centre of monks, novices, nuns, and the general public. It is located at Ban Bung Khe, Tambon Nong Saeng. The trip to the centre starts from Suwannason Road from Nakhon Nayok town, taking a left turn onto the Nakhon Nayok-Tha Dan route (Highway Number 3239) for 8 kilometres, and then take another right turn and drive on for another 6 kilometres The peaceful meditation centre occupies an area of 500 Rais (200 acres) and is situated near a large mountain range surrounded by big and small mountains. It is situated in an area of big shady trees. There are hundreds of shelters for monks, nuns, and general public to practise the Buddhist perceptions. The centre is under the patronage of Thawon Chittathawaro Wongmalai Foundation. For more information, contact tel: 0-3731-3596.
Ornamental Plants and Floral Centre is located on Rangsit-Ongkharak Road. On this road, especially at the intersection of khlong 15, there are various plant nurseries that grow a large variety of ornamental plants and flora which are sold to every corner of the country. It is the largest plant and flowers centre in Thailand where tourists can buy them at wholesale price.
Chao Pho Ongkharak Shrine , situated on a bank of the Nakhon Nayok River in Tambon San Sai Mun. Legend says that after King Rama V ascended to the throne, he visited the province of Prachin Buri on the Royal Barge via the Nakhon Nayok River. The King stayed overnight (in the area where Chao Pho Ongkhrak Shrine is located today) and during his stay, his bodyguard was sick and later passed away. To honour his bodyguard (ongkharak), under his command, the Ongkharak Shrine was built. Presently, Ongkharak is a name of the district in Nakhon Nayok. In front of the shrine in the middle of the Nakhon Nayok river, there is a sacred whirlpool, of which the water taken is used in royal ceremonies. When the present king, King Bhumibol Adulyadej ascended to the throne, water from this whirlpool was used during the ceremony
Canoeing in Nakhon Nayok River is fast becoming a popular sport that has made Nakhon Nayok famous. The best time of year for canoeing is during the months of June to October. Canoes and its equipment are available for rent in many places. A starting point for canoes is at the foot of the Wang Takhrai bridge, Khlong Nang Rong, or Ban Pa Mak all the way down Nakhon Nayok River, passing many rapids (Kaeng Sam Chan possesses the strongest current).
There are several disembarking spots leading to the main road like Ban Dong, Kaeng Sam Chan, Wang Kuttapha, and Wang Yao. The distances between these points are about 2-5 kilometres. The activity is meant for both recreation and exciting exercise, allow one to be close to nature by canoeing (A canoe is a boat with slim head and rear. There are many different kinds, but the most suitable one for fighting strong currents is the kayak). For more information, contact TAT local office at tel: 0-3731-2282, 0-3731-2284 or Sarika Canoe Centre tel: 0-3739-3245 and Sea Sport Co. tel: 0-2316-9150
Mountain Bikes is another activity as popular as canoeing. This activity can be taken up all year round. For those with their own mountain bikes, the Tourism Authority of Thailand would like to suggest 4 trails:
First : Wang Takhrai-Wang Yao route with a distance of 22 kilometres
Beginning at the foot of the Wang Takhrai bridge, passing magnificent scenery and camping sites;
Second: Khao Cha-ngok - Khao Thurian route with a distance of 24 kilometres The route starts from Chak Dao Resort, passing the Chulachomklao Royal Military Academy and reservoirs;
Third: Wat Phrammani-Khao Mot Dam route with a distance of 31 kilometres. Cycling begins at Wat Phrammani, passing mountainous scenery and bird sanctuary;
Fourth: Wat Kiriwan - Wat Noen Hom route with a distance of 55 kilometres. Beginning at Wat Khiriwan, passing picturesque Khlong Si Siat reservoir, Wat Khao Phra Thammakhan to Neon Hom intersection, Prachin Buri. This route offers lovely views of rice fields, houses, and mountain ranges. Evening pedaling is possible on this trail.
Mountain bikes are available for rent at many places along the route leading to Namtok Nang Rong. Each of them would recommend different cycling tracks and provides local guides on bikes. Most of the tracks pass through fruit orchards, forests, mountains, and waterfalls. Cycling should begin at dawn to avoid the heat since pedaling on each route takes at least 2 hours. Starting the trip early means one would have more time to enjoy the charming natural environment in the morning. There are private Mountain Bicycling services including Phae Canoe Camp tel: 0-2931-6048 or Sarika Canoe Club tel: 0-3739-3245. For more information, contact the Tourism Authority of Thailand, Central Region, District 8 tel: 0-3731-2282, 0-3731-2284.
Khao Yai-Nakhon Nayok Jungle Treks is usually held during December to June. The trekking aims to promote the study of nature and ecology, as well as creating good understanding in natural resources and environmental conservation.
Khao Yai National Park, the first national park of Thailand was declared a national park on September 18, 1962. It covers areas of four provinces: Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Ratchasima, Prachin Buri, and Saraburi. The park occupies an area of 2,168 square kilometers and consists of virgin forest, tropical forest, streams, waterfalls, wildlife, and a variety of plants. The most suitable visiting time is during the Thai winter, from October to February when it is cold at night until the next morning. The highest point is Khao Rom Peak, which is 1,351 metres above sea level. There are four Jungle Treks that are presently arranged, every trek begins at Namtok Nang Rong:
First: trekking through Namtok Nang Rong - Namtok Sai Yong Hin – Namtok Heo Mahesak – Namtok Nang NonTat Ta Mong - Namtok Tat Ta Mong Khong - Namtok Tat Ta Phu - Namtok Manao to Khao Yai National Park. The total distance of this route is about 20 kilometres, 3 days and 2 nights are needed.
Second: a 2-day trek along Namtok Nang Rong and Namtok Mae Plong. The total distance of this route is about 10 kilometres, 2 days are needed.
Third: a trek along canals from Namtok Nang Rong to Khao Thamon. The total distance of this route is about 14 kilometres, 2 days are needed.
Fourth : a 1-day trek along Nang Rong canal passing a cluster of waterfalls at Sai Yong Hin, Bat cave, Namtok Heo Mahesak and back on the same track. The total distance of this route is about 4 kilometres, 1 day is needed.
Attractions along Jungle Treks
Namtok Mae Plong is a 7-tiered beautiful waterfall. The highest tier's falls is no more than 12 metres. It resembles Namtok Heo Narok or Heo Suwat and originates from Huai (stream) Takian or Huai Somphong Yai that flows from Khao Fa Pha.
Namtok Tat Ta Phu , another waterfall that originates from Huai Raya and is 2 kilometres from Namtok Manao. This waterfall is about 30 metres high. It cascades down on rock formations and flows through a field of boulders. The waterfall runs all year through. Near Namtok Tat Ta Phu are grassy fields - a source of food for various species of wild life which may be seen while trekking.
Namtok Tat Ta Khong , also originates from Huai Raya and is 4 kilometres from Namtok Tat Ta Phu. This waterfall drops down from a very steep high cliff. During the rainy season, the water level is higher and the water flows much stronger. The rocks close to the falls become very slippery making it not possible to climb down to the lower levels of the falls. However, during the dry season, the flow of water is much gentler. Visitors can climb down to the lower levels of the falls and witness the beauty of the surroundings. There are also wildlife near the falls, like at Namtok Tat Ta Phu. Furthermore, camping around this area is also recommended.
Namtok Wang Manao is a small waterfall of natural beauty. The falls itself is only about 3 metres high but runs all throughout the year. Around the waterfall, you will find virgin forest with an abundant variety of trees as well as interesting herbs. Walking along these jungle tracks, you will be able to see various species of plants as well as wildlife including gibbons, other monkeys, hornbills, civets, red jungle fowls, porcupines, deer, barking deer, or even wild elephants. Guides, porters, and camping facilities are available. For more information, contact Nakhon Nayok Provincial Office tel: 0-3731-1273.
Getting Ready for Jungle Trekking
- Acquire as much information as you can about the trekking routes in order to prepare yourself properly, since each route provides different kinds of facilities.
- Wear comfortable and close-fitting clothes. Bring a cap, socks, and jacket. Their colours should be in-tune with the surrounding like green, brown, blue, gray and black.
- Bring along light and only necessary trekking equipment such as a backpack, tent or hammock, sleeping bag, food, water, raincoat, piece of plastic mat, first aid kit, a knife, flashlight, a compass, sweater, canvas shoes or trekking shoes, insecticide, tick prevention spray and others.
- Do not wear any kind of perfume while trekking since insects like bees would mistake it for nectar scent and might attack you. On the other hand, if the wild animals should catch an abnormal scent, they may not search for food in that area again.
Do's & Don'ts while Trekking
- Trek only on designated paths in order to preserve natural resources, prevent getting lost, and avoid other dangerous incidents.
- Do not pick up or destroy natural objects including rocks, earth, sand, plants, or any living animals.
- Be especially wary against starting a bush fire accidentally from a cigarette or from the remains of a camp fire. If you must light a camp fire, do so only in a specially prepared area and take special care to extinguish it completely after use.
- Do not make or create loud noises as it may frighten wild animals which may in turn cause their deaths or a stampede which may be dangerous to the visitors.
- Do not litter in the forest, do not throw garbage about, because even a plastic wrapper of a candy can be the cause of death to wild animals that eat it. If trash is found, please help to remove it from
- Tak Bat Thewo Rohana Fair , a festivity where offerings are made to monks. The festivity is held annually on the 1 st day of the waning moon of the 11 th month of the lunar calendar or the end of the Buddhist lent. During the festivity, 109 monks descend from Wat Khao Nang Buat to accept offerings from the townspeople.
- Sweet Plum Mango and Nakhon Nayok Products Fair takes place annually during February-April in front of the City Hall. It is held to promote Ma-prang (sweet plum mangoes), and other agricultural products and handicrafts. The fair features a procession of agricultural products, sweet plum mangoes contests, agricultural products contests, sweet plum mango beauty pageants, student performances, goods stalls of the public and private sectors as well as selling of inexpensive goods.
- Thai Merit Making (Sat Thai) & Long boat Racing Festival is annually held in October along Khlong 29 at Wat Thawiphon Rangsan, Amphoe Ongkharak. The fair showcases a variety of long boats racing, making Krayasat contest (Krayasat is a sticky paste made from rice, bean, sesame, and sugar, usually eaten during Sat Thai Festival), merit making on Sat Thai day, and local entertainment at night.
- Ongkharak Ornamental Plants and Flowers Fair is annually held in April at Khlong 15, Tambon Bang Pla Kot, Amphoe Ongkharak. The contests of ornamental plants and flowers, mini-garden arrangement contests, and an academic exhibition regarding plants and flowers.
Hotels and accommodation
- Cho Cha Muang Resort : 92 Mu 2 Tambon Sarika Amphoe Muang [0 3732 8298] : 800-3,000 baht
- Chulachomklao Royal Military Academy Guesthouse :Khao Changok, Tambon Phrommani Amphoe Muang [0 3739 3126, 0 3739 3119] : 600-1,500 baht
- Jak Dao Resort : 182 Mu 3 Suwannason Road,Tambon Phrommani Amphoe Muang [0 3739 3162-3 Fax: 0 3738 2423] : 900-6,000 baht
- Kobkua Palace : 420 Thongchai Road Amphoe Muang [0 3731 1633, 0 3731 1644] : 200-900 baht
- Namtok Nang Rong : Nang Rong Waterfall Amphoe Muang [0 3731 1286] : 700-1,500 baht
- North Bungalow : 145 Mu 5, Ban Yai Road Amphoe Muang [0 3731 1814, 0 3731 1938] :200-400 baht
- Panchai Hotel : 342/1 Suwannason Road, Opposite Nakhon Nayok Hospital Amphoe Muang [0 3731 1399] : 180-350 baht
- Pho Daeng : 124 Mu 2 Sarika-Nang Rong Road, Tambon Sarika Amphoe Muang [0 3732 8265-6 Fax: 0 3732 7267] : 500-3,500 baht
- Sida Resort : 120 Mu 3 Sarika-Nang Rong Road Amphoe Muang [(Tel: 0 3731 1600, 0 3731 3560-1 Bangkok Tel: 0 2223 9328, 0 2226 6425 Fax: 0 2224 1053] : 1,600-2,300 baht / 3,700 baht
- Suan Phoen Kan : Ban Tha Chai, Tambon Hin Tang Amphoe Muang [0 3721 1182 Bangkok Tel: 0 2537 8361, 0 2936 1051] : 100 baht per person
- Thansamai :: Sena Phinit Road, Next to Wat Pho Nayok Amphoe Muang [0 3731 1388] : 70-180 baht
- Wang Ri Resort : 143 Mu 12, Tambon Khao Phra Amphoe Muang [0 3731 3576 Bangkok Tel: 0 2641 4816-9] : 1,000-12,00 baht
- Wang Takhrai : 22/1 Mu 1 Sarika-Nang Rong Road Amphoe Muang [0 3731 2275] : 600-1,500 baht
- White House : 140/1 Mu1 Tambon Tha Chang Amphoe Muang [0 3731 3152] : 350-600 baht
- Chonlaphruk Resort : 64 Mu 10 Rangsit-Nakhon Nayok Road Amphoe Ban Na [0 3738 2092 Bangkok Tel: 0 2513 1351] : 1,400-3,000 baht
* Amphoe Muang
- Kosum :Thongchai Rd., in front of the Tesabal fresh market, Tel: 0-3731-1424
- Kai Yang Deedee : Highway 3051, before the entrance gateway to the military academy school (grilled chicken & papaya salad)
- Krua Manao : Sarika-Nang Rong Rd., 9 Km, Tel: 0-3732-8327, 0-3732-8313
- Chor Chamuong : Sarika-Nang Rong Rd., 14 Km, Tel: 0-3732-8298
- Dudee : Soi Wat Udom Thani, Tel: 0-3731-2412 (pork noodle)
- Nong Ple : Sena Pinit Rd., across from Thai Farmers market
- Nok Kratua : Suwannasorn Rd., across from Sri Muang market
- Nut-Tip : Sarika-Nang Rong Rd., 9 Km, Tel: 0-3732-8318
- Nakhon Petch : Suwannasorn Rd., near Nakhon Nayok Hospital
- Lab Pla Tapian : Highway 3051, before the entrance gateway to the military academy school
* Amphoe Ban Na
- Lom Fong : Suwannasorn Rd., Pa Ka, Tel: 0-3738-1397
- Suan Aharn Ruen Thai : 88 Moo 10, Suwannasorn Rd., Ban Na, Tel: 0-3731-8820
* Amphoe Pak Phli
- Pranom : Next to Wat Koh Wai, Koh Wai, Tel: 0-3739-9550
* Amphoe Ongkarak
- Chanpen : Near PTT gas station, Ongkarak intersection, Tel: 0-3739-1278
How to get there
* By car
The province is situated 100 Prachin Buris northeast of Bangkok, or less than a two-hours' drive from Bangkok. Travelling By Car : the province can be accessed in two ways:
- First : driving along Highway No.305, along Rangsit canal passing Amphoe (district) Ongkharak. This route is about 107 kilometres
- Second : taking Highway No.1, take a right turn at Hin Gong, and then drive along Suwannason Road (Highway No.33). This route is about 137 kilometres.
* By bus
The Transport Co., Ltd. (Bo Kho So) operates daily non-air-conditioned and air-conditioned buses from the Northern Bus Terminal on Kamphaengphet 2 Road. There are two routes: Bangkok-Hin Kong-Nakhon Nayok and Bangkok-Rangsit-Ongkharak-Nakhon Nayok. For more information, contact tel: 0- 2537-8055 and 0-2936-2841. Additionally, there are specially-run second-class air-conditioned buses from Bangkok-Ongkharak-Chulachomklao Royal Military Academy (by-passing the Nakhon Nayok town) available.